Five Uplifting Funeral Songs that Turn a Funeral into a Celebration of Life

The following songs have uplifting lyrics that may relate to the life that your loved one led.

 1. One Sweet Day – Mariah Carey Featuring Boyz II Men

This song  uplifts the spirit with a chorus of  “and I know eventually we’ll be together, one sweet day.” This may bring some peace as family and friends grieve.

2.  What a Wonderful World – Louis Armstrong

 Louis Armstrong reminds us of the good things in life with lyrics like “I see skies of blue, clouds of white, the bright blessed days and dark sacred nights. And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.”  He has such a beautiful voice and this song will add a special, uplifting feeling to the celebration of life.

3.   Somewhere Over the Rainbow – Isreal Kamakawiwo

This island version calms the soul with its simple lyrics and ukulele  “someday I wish upon a star wake up where the clouds are far behind me.”

Another great rendition is by Eva Cassidy. Her voice is magical. This song speaks for itself. It’s sure to move you and your guests

 4.  I Believe I Can Fly – R. Kelly

I believe I can fly by R Kelly what a great memorial song

I believe I can fly by R Kelly what a great memorial song

R. Kelly and his choir will uplift your guests and bring a sense of celebration to the ceremony by singing, “Spread my wings and fly away. I believe I can soar.”

5.  Reach – Gloria Estefan

At this time of mourning Gloria’s lyrics about remembrance and being strong will bring comfort to guests when she sings “Some days are meant to be remembered.”

To see more songs, and listen to them and read the lyrics, visit funeral and memorial songs.

Did you know that many people are handing out memorial and funeral favors at Celebrations of Life?  See our unique assortment of memorial favors.

Angel Pocket Pewter Charm

Angel Pocket Charm for Funeral or Celebration of Life

 

Check out our popular country funeral songs.
We also have great celebration of life ideas.

Written by Laurie Koski

What are you thinking?

