A Star Wars Funeral, The Perfect Tribute to Young Jack Robinson

I believe this is the first time I’ve written about a true celebration of life for a young child. Hopefully the story of Jack Robinson’s Star Wars send off will inspire you to get creative and turn a funeral into a celebration of life…for even a young life.

Image

Star Wars Funeral Procession for Jack Robinson

Image

Jack’s life was cut short at the young age of four-and-half due to an inoperable brain tumor.
His parents Terence and Marie Robinson were determined to celebrate their son’s life and passions, having his body carried in a Star Wars coffin on a white horse-drawn carriage surrounded by stormtroopers in full attire. A floral arrangement that spelled out “JEDI” was placed on the carriage. A crowd of people, led by Jack’s parents, his twin brother, and three sisters, walked behind the Stormtroopers.

Image

Here how his mother describes how she planned such a wonderful, thoughtful, personalized and unique funeral / celebration of life for her young son:
I had 10 weeks to think about the funeral, and I wanted to do something different and special for him. I wanted Jack’s funeral to have a twist, because he was so unique.
Even when we were in hospital and I was sleeping next to him, he would poke me in the back with a lightsaber, then very quickly hit it and grin at me.
I prerecorded and then played me singing Ellie Goulding’s “How Long Will I Love You” to around 60 mourners inside the church. Jack liked the song and I used to sing it with him. I went to a recording studio and decided on Ellie Goulding’s song because that’s my message and words to Jack. It seemed quite fitting, and although no one likes to hear the sound of their own voice, I wanted to do it for Jack.
She said, “In just four-and-a-half years, Jack achieved what many people spend a lifetime doing.He was only a little boy but he brought people together, from all over the world.”

Image

Image

Image

Continuing the theme into the church

Image

Jack Robinson sporting his wonderful smile

His mother was quoted on Facebook as saying “Thank you for your messages. I am totally speechless, my baby has gone but all I can do is cry. We will give my baby an almighty send off, the funeral of all funerals, he deserves the best.”
Marie, the best is what you gave Jack, great job!
May the force be with you always, young Jedi!

What are you thinking?

