Father Creates a Video and a Song as a Tribute to the Daughter he Lost

Father’s Day is this Sunday. I sent my father the book “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand (she also wrote Seabisket). I heard it’s a great story and book that’s hard to put down.  I feel so fortunate to have such a wonderful father who continues to guide and inspire me. I feel there is a special bond between some fathers and daughters and we are lucky to have that bond.

This week, I received an email from a man named Tony Harrison. Tony stated that his daughter, Vicky took her own life last year. He said he has had a terrible time since and he was inspired to write a song and produce a video as a tribute to her. You can feel his pain in the song. I was touched by the song and photos of Vicky in the video and thought I’d share it with you.  I can tell Tony also had that special father daughter bond with Vicky. My heart goes out to him.

Many people come to our site looking for unique ideas for planning a funeral, memorial service or celebration of life,  I thought this video might inspire you to produce a video as a tribute to your loved one. You could show it at the memorial service as well as post it on the person’s facebook page if they have one.  If you did produce a memorial video, you could put it up online and send friends and family the link. Another idea, the video could be burned onto a CD and handed out at the memorial service. If you don’t feel you can get it together by the service, you could still make the video and send it out on your loved ones birthday or anniversary of their passing.  You can find video editors in your area on http://www.craigslist.com or do a quick Google search.  You can watch the video down at the bottom of this post.

Below are the lyrics to the Song Angel on the Breeze

To see your smile once more
And hear your voice again
If only I could have those things
It would help to ease my pain
My pillow holds an ocean of tears
Thinking it’s a dream
My heart is in a million pieces
I just want to shout and scream

You are the sun that shines so bright
You are the twinkle of a star in the sky
You are the flowers that grow wild and free
You are an angel who glides on the breeze

If pictures paint a thousand words
You have broken the rule
By taking one look at you
We can all see you’re the jewel
I’m lost and don’t know what to do
Each day I cry and cry
Your beautiful face and smile to see
Would help to get me by

You are the sun that shines so bright
You are the twinkle of a star in the sky
You are the flowers that grow wild and free
You are an angel who glides on the breeze

Angel on the breeze
Angel on the breeze
Angel on the breeze
Angel on the breeze
Angel on the breeze

Angel on the breeze

Music and lyrics by Tony Harrison
Vocals By Sharon Fehlberg
Produced By Andy Haldane http://www.andyhaldane.co.uk
Recorded at Greenholm Studios

One response to “Father Creates a Video and a Song as a Tribute to the Daughter he Lost

  1. Thank you for posting it Mary. If anybody would like the audio track it is available to download free

What are you thinking?

