More People Opting to be Cremated Because of Fluffy

Mary and Kelly at our favorite place- Baker Beach in San Francisco

Mary and Kelly at our favorite place- Baker Beach in San Francisco

My sister sent me an article recently about the growing trend of people requesting to be buried in a pet cemetery next to their beloved pet. It makes me think how far we’ve come. In 1985 only 15% of people were cremated and today the number is 47%. I’d love to know how many people were cremated in 1985 and then were joined with their departed pet.

I have a dog named Kelly. Kelly is not a very good dog. She’s been banned from the dog park for beating up the other dogs, she hates cats and she can snap at people for no apparent reason. I was warned when I rescued her that she had “issues” but she was initially on her best behavior and I thought I could train whatever issues she had out of her. On a positive note, she’s super smart, completely loyal and very protective and I love her. Eventhough she’s a liability, I tell her everynight before I go to bed that I love her and I believe she’d tell me the same if she could talk.

I’m not so sure I’d like to be buried in a pet cemetery with her because even in her death she’d be causing such a commotion with all the other animals (especially the cats) we’d never get any rest. I’d prefer that I be mixed with all my pets (Kelly was my first dog but hopefully not my last) and my ashes scattered in the San Francisco Bay.

How do you feel about joining your pet in a pet cemetery? Please share your comments. You can read the article here http://www.denverpost.com/commented/ci_17306308?source=commented-news

One response to “More People Opting to be Cremated Because of Fluffy

  1. Of course, if you know me, you know I’ll be buried alongside my most loyal life companions (my dogs). I don’t yet know if it will be in a pet cemetery or a regular one. BUT you should join the living for some fun at Crissy Field on June 18, 2011 where Lab Rescue is hosting a Labrador fun day at the beach. Love your pix, Ma!

What are you thinking?

